Imran Khan loses no-trust vote; Shahbaz Sharif to be next Pakistan PM

The opposition’s no-trust motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan succeeded an hour past midnight on Sunday, with 174 members in the 342-strong house voting in favour of the motion.

PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq, who was chairing the session, announced the result.

Minutes before voting began, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser resigned from his post, saying he could not take part in a foreign conspiracy to oust the prime minister.

Before announcing his resignation, Qaiser said that he had received “important documents” from the cabinet, which he invited the leader of the opposition and the Chief Justice of Pakistan to see.

After Sadiq took the chair, he paid tribute to Qaiser for remaining with his party and opting for an “honourable exit”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Hot Topics

Related Articles